ACARA – Year 2

“By the end of Year 2, students have a much stronger understanding of themselves and have begun to connect with the wider community.”

The Australian Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum describes a learning entitlement for each Australian student that provides a foundation for successful, lifelong learning and participation in the Australian community.

The Australian Curriculum is used to design learning for children in foundation (reception) to year 10:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • The Arts
  • Technologies
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Languages for Foundation (reception) to Year 10.

The general capabilities from the Australian Curriculum encompass the knowledge, skills, behaviours and dispositions that will assist children to live and work successfully in the twenty-first century. The general capabilities are:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Personal and Social Capability
  • Critical and Creative Thinking
  • Information and Communication Technologies (ICT’s) Capability
  • Ethical Understanding
  • Intercultural Understanding

Here is a link to ACARA- Years 1-2

Info for Parents-19pb3uh

This link explains what the Australian Curriculum is designed to develop as well as insight into the 8 learning areas and the 7 general capabilities shown within these learning areas.

The Australian Curriculum is flexible so that teachers can plan the learning for all their students, also taking into account their local school community.

Here is a link to the parents section of the Australian Curriculum website: