The learning in R/1TD and R/1GC is guided by the following curriculum frameworks:


The aim of the Early Years Learning Framework is to extend and enrich children’s learning from birth to five years and through the transition to school.

Fundamental to the Framework is a view of children’s lives as characterised by:
• Belonging
• Being
• Becoming

From before birth children are connected to family, community, culture and place. Their earliest development and learning takes place through these relationships, particularly within families, who are children’s first and most influential educators. As children participate in everyday life, they develop interests and construct their own identities and understandings of the world.


The Australian Curriculum describes a learning entitlement for each Australian student that provides a foundation for successful, lifelong learning and participation in the Australian community.

The Australian Curriculum is used to design learning for children in foundation (reception) to year 10:
• English
• Mathematics
• Science
• Humanities and Social Sciences (History and Geography)
• The Arts
• Technologies
• Health and Physical Education
• Languages for Foundation (reception) to Year 10.

The general capabilities from the Australian Curriculum encompass the knowledge, skills, behaviours and dispositions that will assist children to live and work successfully in the twenty-first century. The general capabilities are:

• Literacy
• Numeracy
• Personal and Social Capability
• Critical and Creative Thinking
• Information and Communication Technologies (ICT’s) Capability
• Ethical Understanding
• Intercultural Understanding

For further information:


Crossways is the religious education framework for South Australian Catholic Schools. This Framework is designed so that children will engage with their own worlds of meaning and make links with Catholicism as a believing, living, celebrating and praying religious Tradition.